top of page

What's in a song?

My faith community spent last Sunday in worship through music and prayer. This week is a continuation of that. We are being ministered to in preparation of teachings on how to take ownership of the all the stuff that keeps us down, that prevents us from living a full life that is blessed by God and a blessing to others. We humans have a tendency to allow our "stuff" to matter more to us than other things that should - things like our families, our calling, taking care of ourselves. We use our stuff as a handy dandy catch-all for honing our individual blame games.

It's time to stop rolling the dice on that game, don't you think?

Music is a huge part of the healing process for me. Listening to Christian music introduces a balm unlike any other. At various times in life God has spoken to me through song. Case in point - when I was preparing to turn in my resignation to a job I really loved, one I felt I was called to but had let it take over my life. I got in my van to head to our main office and when I turned the key the song "I Surrender All" was playing. Have to be blunt here. I flat out told God that timing was not amusing. Of course He didn't intend it to be. My following His lead is not a joke, it's serious rewarding business.

The worship teams at my church use contemporary music, some of which is old hymns set to new or up tempo tunes. I like that because it blends what I grew up with with what I enjoy now. Truly, today's writers are composing new hymns to be cherished.

I do admit to missing the contemporary music from my teens and early adult years. When I have a chance to listen to it I give it my undivided attention and tend to sing along at full volumn (at least until a message hits my heart and weeping begins).

Tonight was such a night. Heading home from my daughter's house I took a look at what was playing on a Christian Sirius station. Cece Winans was on singing "Alabaster Box". Powerful song. It speaks of the woman who broke her alabaster box of precious oil as a praise offering on Jesus' feet. She dried His feet with her hair. She was ridiculed for doing so, but Jesus lovingly accepted her offering and rebuked those who objected.

The song tells my story, and I'm guessing that of some reading this. I'm going to just include a video here and let you listen to the words. I hope and pray it reminds you of when Jesus wrapped His arms around you and took you in.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page