top of page

Oops

Well, I guess some folks would say I failed. Here it is the 9th of October and the last I entered a post for my 31 day writing challenge was the 5th. Oops.

Here's another take - Oh well.

Yeah. Pretty simple. Oh. Well.

It's not that I don't feel bad about not entering something each day, I do. In fact, each night as I was heading to dreamland this blog came to my mind and I was filled with guilt. Not enough to get out of bed. It takes too much for me to get to sleep for that. But I did feel bad.

I also felt bad because I missed some others commitments I made. I was just in a funk I guess.

What to do? What to do?

I could have just ignored this, but a friend at church gave me some unexpected encouragement.

I could have wallowed in my failure, but God showed up and turned that combination lock one more turn today. Maybe two! Yeah, definitely two!

And so I begin again. That's the awesome thing with God. We can fail, say oops, be remorseful, want to quit. And God shows up and tells us we can just start again. I have done so literally countless times.

God knows as well I do that fear is my nemesis. I fear people seeing the real me. I fear falling. I fear failing. I fear doing nothing. I fear doing something!

Lesson from church today - It's time to be honest. It's time to let God's perfect love cast out my fear. If I fail, I fail. If I fall, I fall. It's not like it hasn't happened before or that it won't happen again. The important thing to remember is that God is there for all of it. He knew it would happen and still died for me. He knew. He died. For me.

And you.

Let that sink in.

Let that engulf you.

Let that fill your heart with hope - to begin again.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page